Skip to Content
Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
The 7 1/2 deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle : a novel
2018
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the ' Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* The Hardcastle family has decided to throw a party at Blackheath House as a memorial to their son, who was killed there years before. At 11 p.m., during the party, Evelyn Hardcastle is murdered. Aiden Bishop is trapped inside a time loop with this murder mystery at its center. Each morning he awakens in another guest's body and relives that same day until Evelyn's death. If he does not find the killer by 11 p.m., Evelyn will die, and the cycle will begin again. However, there is a catch: he's racing against time—he has eight days, eight do-overs, to solve the mystery. If he fails, he will be killed himself. This novel is so ingenious and original that it's difficult to believe it's Turton's debut. The writing is completely immersive. The reader slips into the pages right beside Bishop, following closely in the adrenaline-packed hunt for the killer. Evelyn's time line could easily be confusing, but Turton masterfully creates a natural flow while jumping through different characters on different days. There are certainly echoes of Agatha Christie here, but it's Christie ramped up several notches, thanks to the malevolent twist on the Groundhog Day theme. Readers may be scratching their heads in delicious befuddlement as they work their way through this novel, but one thing will be absolutely clear: Stuart Turton is an author to remember. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Library Journal Reviews

In this creepy, twisty, much-anticipated thriller, Evelyn Hardcastle is murdered each day at 11:00 p.m., and protagonist Aiden Bishop is ordered to inhabit the bodies of eight different guests at the event where they're present so that he can identify the killer and break the bloody cycle. Must-read kudos from Stylist Magazine, Harper's Bazaar, and Australia's Marie Claire; from debut British author Turton.

Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

Library Journal Reviews

Turton's first novel starts with narrator Aiden Bishop waking in the woods with no memory of how he got there or who he is. He hears a woman's yell for help and thinks he sees her shot to death. Making his way out of the forest, he comes upon Blackheath House, the country manor of the Hardcastle family. There he's identified as Dr. Sebastian Bell, and though his claims of the murder are met with some skepticism by the house party, a search does get underway. No woman is found. Aiden goes through his day confused and scared but finds no answers. The next morning, he discovers he is now in the body of someone else in the household and is reliving the same day as this new person. As he is reincarnated as different guests, he's told by a masked man that he must solve the murder (that will happen that night) of Evelyn Hardcastle, daughter of the house, before he can escape his current circumstances. VERDICT Turton's debut is skillfully done. He expertly manages the many moving parts of the plot while taking readers ever deeper into the story. Recommended. [See Prepub Alert, 3/26/18.]—Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L., WI

Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

Publishers Weekly Reviews

Turton's complex debut blends mystery with Groundhog Day and Quantum Leap. Guests have been invited to the Hardcastle family manse, the dilapidated Blackheath House in the English countryside, for a masquerade ball that the Hardcastles are holding for the return of their daughter, Evelyn, from Paris. At the novel's start, several days before the ball, an unnamed protagonist comes upon Blackheath and enlists those inside to find the body of a woman he thinks has just been murdered. He's forgotten his identity, but people at the house think he's Dr. Sebastian Bell, an invitee to the ball. It turns out Bell is the first of eight people—invited guests of the Hardcastles, their associates, staff, and a police officer—whom the main character will inhabit over eight days in a repeating loop. This loop revolves around two mysteries: who killed young Thomas Hardcastle 19 years ago, and who murders Evelyn, his older sister, the night of the ball? As the hero amasses clues about the past and present, a mysterious costumed "Plague Doctor" chimes in to direct the action, explaining the only escape from this loop is to expose the identity of Evelyn's murderer. This is a complicated, twisting plot that may delight some looking for a puzzle but may leave others exasperated at the overly abstruse rules and kitchen-sink concept. (Sept.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.

Annotations

Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden Bishop must solve the murder of Evelyn Hardcastle in order to escape the curse, in a world filled with enemies where nothing and no one are quite what they seem. - (Baker & Taylor)

Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden Bishop must solve the murder of Evelyn Hardcastle in order to escape the curse in a world filled with enemies where nothing and no one are quite what they seem. - (Baker & Taylor)

"Agatha Christie meets Groundhog Day...quite unlike anything I've ever read, and altogether triumphant."—A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

The Rules of Blackheath
Evelyn Hardcastle will be murdered at 11:00 p.m.
There are eight days, and eight witnesses for you to inhabit.
We will only let you escape once you tell us the name of the killer.
Understood? Then let's begin...

***
Evelyn Hardcastle will die. Every day until Aiden Bishop can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others.

For fans of Claire North and Kate Atkinson, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive novel that follows one man's race against time to find a killer— but an astonishing time-turning twist means that nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Praise for The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle:
Costa First Novel Award 2018 Winner
One of Stylist Magazine's 20 Must-Read Books of 2018
One of Harper's Bazaar's 10 Must-Read Books of 2018
One of Guardian's Best Books of 2018

- (Sourcebooks Inc.)

Librarian's View
Large Cover Image
Displaying 1 of 1